Exploring Raja Ampat’s Magic

Day 1

DSC00714

Landed at sunrise at a tiny airport in forest drenched Sorong with a rusted roof on the one carousel baggage claim area filled with porters.

DSC00713

Airport bathroom

Took an ojek ride past markets and trash-free streets and Papuan women’s slow smiles, massive silver, gold and blue mosques interspersed between churches topped with towering crosses, kids in blue and green school uniforms marching, yellow bemos blaring music, and two people asking if I know their friends: Alex and Tom from America.

DSC00716

View from Sarong

Bugs crawled on ferry walls while a Middle Eastern musical with Indonesian subtitles played. Arrived in Waigeo and Waiwo Dive Resort to sandy paths weaving between rainforest overlooking brilliant blue waters, a crab skittering across my porch, mosquitos the size of horse flies, and the resounding music of bird calls: Welcome to Papua.

DSC00718

Waiwo sent a driver to come fetch me, so when I got off the ferry and was swarmed by men offering rides, I explained I was awaiting the Waiwo driver.

“Oh yes,” a skinny man with a stained shirt said in perfect English, “They sent me. What was your name again; I’m sorry I forget. I am your ojek to Waiwo.”

I stared at him dubiously when a voice called, “Sara!” from a car in the lot. Nice try clever ojek driver.

Day 2

DSC00731

In typical “Sara in Indo” fashion, I fall sick: stabbing pains throughout my digestive track, so I spend the day in bed, windows open. The waves roll against the shore. Birds call. One sounds like a high-pitched siren and last 3-6seconds at a time. At first I thought it was someone’s alarm, then realized it was emanating irregularly from the forest. Another bird makes the most beautiful 6 note call I’ve ever heard. Cicadas pulse. In the distance, speedboat motors.

DSC00726

To help with my belly, the staff agrees to substitute out the sambal slathered fish and oil drenched vegetables for white rice, boiled eggs, boiled veggies and bananas. Dinner is beautiful: hard boiled egg, potatoes, grilled Spanish Mackrel (“No oil—grilled like in Bali”) and a gorgeous apple.

DSC00895

Where I spent the day

Day 3

DSC00756

Raja Ampat is a collection of breath-taking, forested islands in a vast expanse of ocean. Schools of thousands of fish jumped in the distance, and I couldn’t help but laugh. I have seen small groups of fish jumping before, maybe 20-100 fish. This was thousands moving in vast, arching ribbons. My guides thought my reactions odd: growing up with this bounty, they have no idea how touching it is to see for the first time.

DSC00755

Our first stop was Arborak Village.

DSC00758

Putting on my snorkel gear and jumping in after Jecky (my amazing guide—a Master Diver who has over 2,000 dives logged), I almost burst into tears. 1000s of fish in a beautiful underwater dance.

DSC00765

DSC00766

I flashed on Evan and I visiting the Colombia River Maritime Museum in Astoria, Oregon where there was information about the salmon that drew people to the area; salmon so thick people were said to be able to walk on salmon backs across the Columbia River (which is 14m wide between Astoria and Megler, WA). Raja Ampat is the world before huge salmon hatcheries and massive fishing industries cause devastation, which makes it both feel magical in its healthy vibrance and terrifyingly fragile.

A brilliantly colored nudibranch.

DSC00768

The largest lionfish I have ever seen. A scorpion fish tucked back and camouflaged so brilliantly, I never would have seen it without Jecky.

DSC00773

scorpion fish

My first school of bat fish.

DSC00778

batfish

Pipefish (like snakes that nearly blend into the sand).

DSC00771

pipe fish

A dozen giant clams with vibrant colors.

DSC00780

DSC00781

DSC00783

I was blown away; by far the best snorkeling I had ever done in my life was under one little dock off Arborak Village.

DSC00774

DSC00785

DSC00787

DSC00788

DSC00789

I got out my notebook, wanting to record all the life we had seen. As Jecky was helping me to remember, I saw a massive crab 2x the size of my hand crawling on the dock. “Crab!” I yelled excitedly, writing it down. He laughed, shaking his head. “Crab…”

DSC00802

His sister-in-laws appeared on the island, well-dressed (loose-fitting, sun-protecting island wear) with big hats and huge smiles.

DSC00805

DSC00811

A sick trigger fish that was swimming in circles

They loved teasing Jecky. They chatted, and then we were off. 100m from the dock, our engine stopped working. Jecky took out tools and started tinkering while I watched the island, the waves. 100s of fish nibbled just below the surface, so you could hear slapping and see bubbles rise.

DSC00804

Looking down into the water from our boat

It became clear after 15min Jecky was going to need a little time, so he paddled us in towards the shore. I explored with Jecky’s sister-in-laws: villagers chatting under bale, dirt road, women weaving palm leaf, a naked four-year-old girl with sun-dyed red hair manically chewing on sugar cane, sucking the juice out of the stalk and then spitting the rest out.

DSC00810

Once Jecky fixed the boat, we headed to Yembuba Conservation Area.

DSC00793

Again, so much life! Schools of fish (not nearly so many as our first stop, but here instead of 1000s of a single species there were schools of 100s of various species, looping in and out of each other).

DSC00816

DSC00820

Many trigger fish (which I cautiously avoided after being bit by one in Menjangan). A leatherback turtle with a patchwork pattern that we watched rise to the surface, and then dive back down again, camouflaging with its surroundings.

DSC00830

DSC00834

Huge schools of barracuda.

DSC00841

Sweet lips. Unicorn fish. A giant leopard fish hiding under a rock.

DSC00843

DSC00846

Yellow trumpet fish

DSC00847

DSC00849

DSC00850

DSC00852

DSC00854

DSC00857

DSC00860

DSC00863

DSC00865

My first shark! A black tipped reef shark swam underneath us, and then looped back a second time before receding into the darkness.

DSC00866

Jecky pulled on my leg, pointing intensely: a massive morey eel swam below us and then curled into a crevice between two rocks, looking out threateningly.

DSC00871

DSC00873

Jecky pointing at eel which you can just barely see=

DSC00877

DSC00875

DSC00879

Bat fish. Parrot fish. A massive Napoleon. Brilliant.

Boating away from the island (where our motor almost did not start again), there were kids paddling about in boats. A man fishing with a rainbow umbrella as sun protection.

DSC00815

Our last stop was a sandbar

DSC00886

where another boat was already docked and a crowd of people laughed and played in the water: Jecky’s family. As soon as we had landed, they asked Jecky to ask me if they could take pictures. There were photo shoots with separate members of his family and then big group shots. A little girl maybe a year and a half old, was handed to me, and as I held her she started at me with wide eyes, one wrong move away from tears.

DSC00881

DSC00883

They left with huge smiles and waves, and we snorkeled. The current was so strong that we started at the far end of the sandbar, swam out as hard as we could, and then let the current wrap us around the incline. Because of the speed of the current and the shallowness of the water, I didn’t think there would be much to see, but again the area was teaming with life. Tons of “nemo fish” (as Jecky called them—talk about a movie that has powerfully integrated itself into the language of the global culture) slipping in and out of the anemones.

DSC00888

DSC00887

On the way back, hawks dipped. A constant call of birds between the drone of the motor, and I wrested with competing desires to have people see this beautiful place and an intense fear that it will be exploited and destroyed within my lifetime: the trees razed, the islands mined, and the fish populations decimated. Maybe Raja Ampat’s saving grace is it’s remote location; maybe that will help keep the pressures of development at bay.

DSC00891

Another huge benefit the area has is the clear belief in conservation. Instead of selling me plastic water bottle after plastic water bottle as they do across the rest of Indonesia, all their water is treated and boiled and given to you in a glass or refilled. I have watched people here very consciously put trash in trashcans instead of discarding it on the ground or dropping it in the ocean, as I have seen so many people (people I respect, well-educated women I work with) do in Bali.

In 2007, seven marine protected areas covering 9,000 sq km were set aside to protect the area from the dynamite and cyanide fishing ravaging Indonesian reef. In 2010 the entire 50,000 sq km area was declared a shark sanctuary and rays are also protected species. (Lonely Planet Indonesia, May 2013).

DSC00893

Thriving, wild and beautiful Raja Ampat; my favorite part of Indonesia.

Links:

www.waiwodiveresort.com

http://www.stayrajaampat.com/accommodation

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Exploring Raja Ampat’s Magic

  1. You’ve blessed us with a bit of marine paradise, so little of which is left in the world.

  2. Jana Clark says:

    What incredible experiences you bring to your students for years to come! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

